Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized





Cheapest Car Insurance in Colorado (CO)

Colorado, home to the beautiful “Mile-High City” and the never-ending Rocky Mountains, boasts some of the most scenic ranches and properties in the U.S. Cool summers and breath-taking ski resorts continue to lure vacationers from the world over. Taking a drive through the “Centennial State” can relax the stressed and excite the bored. To help with driving in this picturesque state, CheapCarInsurance.net has organized this list of helpful Colorado car insurance information, keeping every driver safe and protected.

Average Car Insurance Premiums. Average Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income

Census.gov reports that Colorado’s premiums, although historically above the national average, have recently fallen below. Colorado’s premiums as a percentage of income have historically been below and now appear to be at an historic low. In fact, the study shows this figure to be the lowest it has ever been.

Drunk Driving Fatalities

In 2011, Colorado saw a large spike in drunk driving fatalities, surging well above the national average. However, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration indicates that 2012 saw a noticeable decline, bringing the number below the national average once again. Colorado has created a nearly 10 point drop in overall drunk driving fatalities.

Teen Drinking and Driving

The Center for Disease Control reports Colorado’s teen drinking and driving percentage to be more than 1.5 percent lower than the national average. The national average percentage is reported at 10.1 percent, while Colorado’s teens average 8.5 percent.

Vehicular Theft in Colorado

Colorado’s vehicle thefts were far below the national average in 2011; however, the FBI reports a jump in thefts in 2012. Colorado currently surpasses the national average.

To survive a winter in the rugged Rockies requires some serious knowledge about the area. Likewise, surviving as a driver requires serious knowledge about complicated laws and regulations. A few helpful reminders are included here to help protect, whether in the Rockies or in the suburbs.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Colorado

  • Although collision coverage is beneficial to every driver, the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) requires a minimum of liability coverage.
  • Colorado Liability Coverage minimums include:
    • $25,000 per person in the case of bodily injury or death.
    • $50,000 per accident in the case of bodily injury or death. (involving multiple injured individuals)
    • $15,000 per accident for property damage.
    • $5,000 per accident in medical coverage. This coverage may be refused by the consumer in writing.
  • Failure to provide proof of insurance can result in vehicle impoundment, suspension of registration and/or suspension of drivers license.

New Driver Licensing Requirements

To obatin a Colorado drivers license, applicants are required to first obtain an Instruction Permit. To be elibible for the permit, the applicant must pass the vision test, the written test and be able to present identification and proof of Colorado residency. Once the applicant has kept the Instruction Permit for 12 months, the applicant is eligible to take the final road test and be issued a regular drivers license. The following lists information regarding the tests:

  • Vision Test. All applicants must pass the vision test with a vision accuity of 20/40 or better. There is no provision for telescopic lenses, and if corrective lenses are required to pass then they must be worn at all times while driving.
  • Written Test. According to the Colorado Driver Handbook, the written test covers the contents in the handbook along with common knowledge driving concepts.
  • Road Test. The road test is designed to evaluate an applicant’s ability to handle a vehicle. The applicant must provide a registered, insured and properly equipped vehicle. The Colorado Drivers Manual outlines the testing sections as Preceptual, Perceptual-Motor and Attention Sharing. The skills evaluated include:
    • Left and right turns
    • Stop intersections
    • Through intersections
    • Lane changes in traffic
    • General driving behavior
    • Merging into and from traffic
    • Lane selection
    • Lane management
    • Signals
    • Speed control
    • Stopping
    • Acceleration
    • Observation
  • Pay a License Fee. Colorado requires a $21 fee for a new drivers license.
  • Drivers Under the Age of 18. Colorado has instituted several permits to enable young drivers to learn to drive prior to being elibible for a regular driver’s license. The Colorado Driver Handbook outlines the stipulations of each. Listed here are the types of provisional permits:
    • Driver Education Permit for drivers ages 15 years to 15 years, 6 months.
    • Driver Awareness Permit for drivers ages 15 years, 6 months to 16 years.
    • Minor Instruction Permit for drivers ages 16 years to 21 years.
    • Minor License. This expires 20 days after the driver’s 21st birthday.

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 While the official DUI limit is .08 BAC, the Colorado Driver Handbook points out that a .05 BAC is considered Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) which holds similar penalties as DUI and DWI. The penalties for each are included here:
  • DWAI First Offense:
    • No license suspension is received; however, the driver earns 8 points toward a license suspension.
    • Minimum $200 and maximum $500 fine.
    • Minimum 2 days and maximum 180 days in jail.
    • Minimum 24 hours and maximum 48 hours of public service.
  • DUI First Offense:
    • License Revocation of 9 months.
    • Minimum $600 and maximum $1000 fine.
    • Minimum 5 days and maximum 1 year in jail.
    • Minimum 48 hours and maiximum 96 hours public service.
  • DUI or DWAI Second Offense:
    • License revocation of 1 year.
    • Minimum $600 and maximum $1500 fine.
    • Minimum 10 days and maximum 1 year in jail.
    • Minimum 48 hours and maximum 120 hours of public service.
  • DUI or DWAI Third or Subsequent Offense(s):
    • License revocation of 2 years.
    • Minimum $600 and maximum $1500 fine.
    • Minimum 60 days and maximum 1 year in jail.
    • Minimum 48 hours and maximum 120 hours of public service.
  • Colorado’s Zero Tolerance Law states that drivers under the age of 21 who are found to have a BAC of .02 but less than .08 are subject to mandatory revocation of their driving privileges.

Texting & Driving Laws

Colorado has banned all cell phone devices for novice drivers along with texting for all drivers according to Distraction.gov.

Unique Laws

Colorado, with still a little of the wild west in its blood, makes sure its residents have freedoms they deserve. For instance, mattress tags that read “Do not Remove by Law” may be legally removed in this state. Also, llamas can graze anywhere except on public property. And if, while driving in the state, an individual throws a missile at a car, that is illegal.

State Department of Insurance

Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 894-7499
Toll free (800) 930-3745
www.cdn.colorado.gov
Get directions

Department of Transportation

Colorado Department of Transportation
4201 E. Arkansas Avenue
Denver, CO 80222
(303) 757-9011
www.coloradodot.info
Get Directions

Department of Motor Vehicles

Colorado Department of Revenue
Division of Motor Vehicles
1881 Pierce St.
Lakewood, Colorado 80214
(303) 205-5600
www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue
Get Directions

See rates for these popular cities

Tags:
Actual Yearly Savings
  • Patryse
  • $3600
  • Aug 10, 2014
  • Juan
  • $900
  • Jul 30, 2014
  • Mark
  • $600
  • Jul 30, 2014
  • Janice
  • $480
  • Jul 15, 2014
  • Trevor
  • $3600
  • Jul 15, 2014
  • Wanda
  • $600
  • Jul 1, 2014
  • Dana
  • $960
  • Jul 1, 2014
  • Verness
  • $1200
  • Jun 30, 2014
  • Shondalay
  • $1000
  • Jun 30, 2014
  • Chris
  • $120
  • Jun 27, 2014
  • Anthony
  • $600
  • Jun 24, 2014
  • Paul
  • $3600
  • Jun 21, 2014
  • Melissa
  • $1200
  • Jun 18, 2014
  • Daphne
  • $480
  • Jun 12, 2014
  • Yomara
  • $1800
  • Jun 10, 2014
  • Jose
  • $2400
  • Jun 6, 2014
  • Risa
  • $480
  • Jun 5, 2014
  • Alan
  • $1200
  • Jun 4, 2014
  • Tonisha
  • $1000
  • Jun 1, 2014
  • Raymond
  • $3600
  • May 30, 2014
  • Tiffany
  • $1000
  • May 29, 2014
  • Derrick
  • $3600
  • May 22, 2014
  • Desiree
  • $1200
  • May 19, 2014
  • Danielle
  • $1800
  • May 16, 2014
  • Lujendo
  • $540
  • May 15, 2014
  • Tierra
  • $3600
  • May 14, 2014
  • David
  • $900
  • May 13, 2014
  • Damber
  • $800
  • May 9, 2014
  • Lakisa
  • $960
  • May 7, 2014
  • Rodney
  • $1440
  • May 6, 2014
  • Ashley
  • $600
  • May 6, 2014
  • Michael
  • $2000
  • May 5, 2014
  • Vita
  • $1200
  • May 2, 2014
  • Kathleen
  • $200
  • Apr 28, 2014
  • Elizabeth
  • $600
  • Apr 27, 2014
  • Mercades
  • $1000
  • Apr 9, 2014
  • Steven
  • $1200
  • Apr 6, 2014
  • Sydney
  • $2400
  • Apr 6, 2014
  • Teddy
  • $1200
  • Apr 5, 2014
  • Shyte
  • $660
  • Apr 2, 2014
  • Janna
  • $1200
  • Apr 1, 2014
  • Bre-on
  • $400
  • Mar 31, 2014
  • Vita
  • $1200
  • Mar 31, 2014
  • Curtis
  • $2400
  • Mar 28, 2014
  • Clinton
  • $400
  • Mar 25, 2014
  • Janelle
  • $1800
  • Mar 25, 2014
  • Amanda
  • $1000
  • Mar 21, 2014
  • Tricia
  • $600
  • Mar 21, 2014
  • Douglas
  • $1000
  • Mar 20, 2014
  • Edmund
  • $1200
  • Mar 18, 2014

Our Commitment

"It's We Stand Behind Our Commitment to do our Best to get You the Lowest Rates Online. Getting cheap auto insurance quotes is so easy now."


One Good Reason to Shop With Us

"After being with my insurance company for just shy of 10 years, and after having shopped at companies that everyone around my hometown swore were the cheapest (including unadvertised "bargain" companies and giant comparison shopping brands), I decided to shop here at CheapCarInsurance and ended up saving just under $1,100 off my annual insurance bill, which is a lot more than I ever could have imagined anyone saving, especially me, an avid online shopper and extreme bargain hunter [...]

This is pretty ridiculous considering the fact that: 1st, I had regularly asked my former insurance company for reviews and discounts; 2nd, I recently got a speeding ticket in a school zone (which I am a bit ashamed to say) just before I switched; and 3rd, that $1,100 savings was before I got an additional discount for bundling my home insurance on my policy (which is a lot lower now too).

Unfortunately, and surprisingly, 10 years of loyalty did not pay off for me, and was replaced by a 5 minute quote that will save me thousands down the road. In short, our family owns 3 cars, and my new rates are about half my old rates; so not bad for the little additional time it took to compare quotes and digitally sign a policy.

Obviously, not everyone will save nearly as much as I did, but it's well worth your 5 minutes to find out, even if you end up only saving a few hundred dollars per year, potentially adding up to thousands over a couple years."

Jared



How Much Did You Save With Us?

Tell us how much you saved, and we will might just feature your savings right here on our site along with our other top savers!

First Name*

Last Name*

Savings (estimate)*

Frequency*

Your Email*

[We'll NEVER use your email address to send you promotional/junk email]

Resources

Compare Actual Vehicle Rates
Going Green
Insurance Resources
State Requirements