Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized





Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut (CT)

Although Connecticut is on record as the United States’ third smallest state, it holds number four on the list of most denstly populated states. Marking the southern border of the official New England region of the U.S., historically strong maritime roots give this state its East Coast charm and Atlantic ocean allure. Quaint farms and stately horse properties contrast pleasantly with the ever-busy Cheshire, New Haven and Tri-State Area. Drivers find historic sites all across the “Nutmeg State”, and CheapCarInsurance.net wants to protect and inform drivers as they make their way through. Following is a bundle of useful information to help drivers stay informed and protected.

Average Car Insurance Premiums and Average Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income

Car insurance premiums in Connecticut have been steadily above the national average for nearly two decades. However, Census.gov, indicates that the state’s premiums as a percentage of income have fallen below the national average over the last decade.

Drunk Driving Fatalities

Connecticut has seen improvement in the number of drunk driving fatalities, but the The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows the state was still far above the national average in 2012.

Teen Drinking and Driving

Connecticut’s teens do not drink and drive at the rate of their national counterparts. According to the Center for Disease Control, the state ranks .7 percent lower than the national average when it comes to teen drinking and driving.

Vehicular Theft in Connecticut

The national average for vehicle theft is nearly 230, according to the FBI, while Connecticut is reported at just under 180. The state even shows a decreasing trend in vehicle thefts since 2011.

From the bustling city to the beautiful country, Connecticut offers a wide array of driving routes. Similarly, Connecticut’s insurance laws and regulations offer a wide array of requirements. Connecticut drivers can stay informed and make certain they are adequately protected by using this list of useful information.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Connecticut

  • The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that every vehicle registered in the state have liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured driver coverage. If the vehicle is registered it must be insured.
  • Liability Coverage minimums for the state of Connecticut:
    • $20,000 for death or injury per person involved in a traffic collision.
    • $40,000 for death or injury per accident if multiple individuals are involved.
    • $10,000 for damage of property.
    • Uninsured/Underinsured driver coverage of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
  • A driver who does not respond to DMV notices to register his/her vehicle may have their registration suspended and lose their privilege to register any vehicle in the state.

New Driver Licensing Requirements

  • The Connecticut DMV states that any new driver must obtain a 2-year leaner’s permit prior to obtaining a regular driver’s license. The driver must hold the permit for a minimum of 90 days to be eligible for a regular license.
  • Applicants must pass a vision test and written test to obtain the learner’s permit, and the permit has several restrictions and requirements:
    • Must be accompanied by a driver who is 20 years of age or older and has held a valid drivers license with no suspensions for four consecutive years.
    • Completion of an 8 hour Safe Driving Practices Course. The DMV provides information regarding how and where to take this course.
    • If the driver is under 18 years of age, he/she may have no passengers except the required licensed driver listed above.
  • Vision Screening. An applicant’s results on this test must indicate a visual accuity of at least 20/40. The test also evaluates the applicant’s peripheral vision and perception of depth and color.
  • Written Test. To test the applicant’s knowledge of the Connecticut Driver’s Manual, the DMV requires the applicant to pass a 25-question test. 20 correctly answered questions are needed to pass, and a copy of the manual can be accessed at the above link.
    • If an applicant fails the written test, he/she must wait 7 days before being eligible to re-take the test. Written test results are valid for 2 years. To help applicants prepare for the exam, the Connecticut DMV has also provided useful podcasts which can be accessed on the DMV’s web page.
  • Road Test. The vehicle used for the road test must be registered, insured and in safe operating condition. The vehicle must be driven to and from the testing facility by a licensed driver. The Connecticut Driver’s Manual states that the road test evaluates each applicant’s skills in the following areas:
    • Properly adjust seat belts, steering wheels, mirrors and seats.
    • Operate all vehicle equipment including windshield wipers and washers, parking break, heater, defroster, headlights and horn.
    • Ability to obey traffic signs and signals.
    • Parking the vehicle.
    • Backing the vehicle.
    • Execution of basic driving skills.
    • Ability to recognize warning lights on the vehicle’s instrument panel.
  • Fees. There is a $19 fee for the learner’s permit and a $40 testing fee. The regular drivers license fees are $72 for a 6 year license and $84 for a 7 year license.

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 Any and all convictions in Connecticut result in a minimum license revocation for the driver and the state’s DMV web page outlines the penalties for Operating Under the Influence (OUI). In addition to criminal penalties, Connecticut also enforces Administrative per se suspensions as well as Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirements for every offense.

    The IID program requires a $100 administration fee upon application submission. When court-ordered, an IID must be installed on each vehicle the driver owns and/or operates. The driver must pay the installation fee which is determined by the installer, and every 30 days, the driver must respond to the installer to have the IID re-calibrated. Failure to comply with any part of the IID program results in suspension of the driver’s license.

  • First Offense:
    • Upon refusal, the driver’s license is suspended for:
      • 18 months if 16-17 years old
      • 1 year if 18-20 years old
      • 6 months if over 21 years old
    • If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16, the driver’s license is suspended for:
      • 1 year if 16-17 years old.
      • 6 months if 18-20 years old.
      • 90 days if over 21 years old.
    • If tested at BAC of .16 or over, the driver’s licese is suspended for:
      • 1 year if 16-17 years old.
      • 240 days if 18-20 years old.
      • 120 days if over 21 years old.
    • Mandatory 1 year IID program from the date the license is restored.
  • Second Offense:
    • Upon refusal, the driver’s license is suspended for:
      • 3 years if 16-17 years old
      • 2 years if 18-20 years old
      • 1 year if over 21 years old
    • If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16, the driver’s license is suspended for:
      • 2 years if 16-17 years old.
      • 18 months if 18-20 years old.
      • 9 months if over 21 years old.
    • If tested at BAC of .16 or over, the driver’s licese is suspended for:
      • 30 months if 16-17 years old.
      • 20 months if 18-20 years old.
      • 10 months if over 21 years old.
    • Mandatory 3 years IID program from the date the license is restored.
  • Third or Subsequent Offense(s):
    • Upon refusal, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or a license suspension for:
      • 6 years if 16-20 years old
      • 3 years if over 21 years old
    • If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or a license suspension for:
      • 4 years if 16-20 years old.
      • 2 years if over 21 years old.
    • If tested at BAC of .16 or over, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or a license suspension for:
      • 5 years if 16-20 years old.
      • 2 1/2 years if over 21 years old.
    • No IID program is stipulated due to the possible permanant license revocation.

Texting & Driving Laws

Distraction.gov indicates that Connecticut has banned handheld and hands-free devices from bus drivers and novice drivers. Handheld devices are banned from all drivers as well as texting.

Unique Laws

There are so many laws on each state’s books, some must have been forgotten at some point. Perhaps Connecticut has a few of those with such laws as the one probibiting walking backward after sunset. Another entry could be the law that makes it illegal to educate dogs. And if a driver happens to switch out their vehicle for a nice bike ride, remember that a bicyclist can be stopped by the police for riding over 65 MPH!

State Department of Insurance

Connecticut Insurance Department
153 Market St. Hartford, CT 06103
(800) 203-3447
www.ct.gov/cid
Get Directions

Department of Transportation

Connecticut Department of Transportation
2800 Berlin Turnpike
Newington, CT 06111
(860) 594-2000
www.ct.gov/dot
Get Directions

Department of Motor Vehicles

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-4020
(860) 263-5725
www.ct.gov/dmv
Get Directions

See rates for these popular cities

Tags:
Actual Yearly Savings
  • Gayle
  • $420
  • Oct 21, 2014
  • Manita
  • $600
  • Sep 21, 2014
  • Richard
  • $1188
  • Sep 19, 2014
  • Ashlee
  • $960
  • Sep 8, 2014
  • Tracy
  • $1200
  • Sep 3, 2014
  • Jaclyne
  • $120
  • Aug 28, 2014
  • Justin
  • $600
  • Aug 28, 2014
  • Patryse
  • $3600
  • Aug 10, 2014
  • Juan
  • $900
  • Jul 30, 2014
  • Mark
  • $600
  • Jul 30, 2014
  • Janice
  • $480
  • Jul 15, 2014
  • Trevor
  • $3600
  • Jul 15, 2014
  • Wanda
  • $600
  • Jul 1, 2014
  • Dana
  • $960
  • Jul 1, 2014
  • Verness
  • $1200
  • Jun 30, 2014
  • Shondalay
  • $1000
  • Jun 30, 2014
  • Chris
  • $120
  • Jun 27, 2014
  • Anthony
  • $600
  • Jun 24, 2014
  • Paul
  • $3600
  • Jun 21, 2014
  • Melissa
  • $1200
  • Jun 18, 2014
  • Daphne
  • $480
  • Jun 12, 2014
  • Yomara
  • $1800
  • Jun 10, 2014
  • Jose
  • $2400
  • Jun 6, 2014
  • Risa
  • $480
  • Jun 5, 2014
  • Alan
  • $1200
  • Jun 4, 2014
  • Tonisha
  • $1000
  • Jun 1, 2014
  • Raymond
  • $3600
  • May 30, 2014
  • Tiffany
  • $1000
  • May 29, 2014
  • Derrick
  • $3600
  • May 22, 2014
  • Desiree
  • $1200
  • May 19, 2014
  • Danielle
  • $1800
  • May 16, 2014
  • Lujendo
  • $540
  • May 15, 2014
  • Tierra
  • $3600
  • May 14, 2014
  • David
  • $900
  • May 13, 2014
  • Damber
  • $800
  • May 9, 2014
  • Lakisa
  • $960
  • May 7, 2014
  • Rodney
  • $1440
  • May 6, 2014
  • Ashley
  • $600
  • May 6, 2014
  • Michael
  • $2000
  • May 5, 2014
  • Vita
  • $1200
  • May 2, 2014
  • Kathleen
  • $200
  • Apr 28, 2014
  • Elizabeth
  • $600
  • Apr 27, 2014
  • Mercades
  • $1000
  • Apr 9, 2014
  • Steven
  • $1200
  • Apr 6, 2014
  • Sydney
  • $2400
  • Apr 6, 2014
  • Teddy
  • $1200
  • Apr 5, 2014
  • Shyte
  • $660
  • Apr 2, 2014
  • Janna
  • $1200
  • Apr 1, 2014
  • Bre-on
  • $400
  • Mar 31, 2014
  • Vita
  • $1200
  • Mar 31, 2014

Our Commitment

We Stand Behind Our Commitment to do our Best to get You the Lowest Rates Online. Getting cheap auto insurance quotes is so easy now.


One Good Reason to Shop With Us

"After being with my insurance company for just shy of 10 years, and after having shopped

read more...

at companies that everyone around my hometown swore were the cheapest (including unadvertised "bargain" companies and giant comparison shopping brands), I decided to shop here at CheapCarInsurance and ended up saving just under $1,100 off my annual insurance bill, which is a lot more than I ever could have imagined anyone saving, especially me, an avid online shopper and extreme bargain hunter [...]

This is pretty ridiculous considering the fact that: 1st, I had regularly asked my former insurance company for reviews and discounts; 2nd, I recently got a speeding ticket in a school zone (which I am a bit ashamed to say) just before I switched; and 3rd, that $1,100 savings was before I got an additional discount for bundling my home insurance on my policy (which is a lot lower now too).

Unfortunately, and surprisingly, 10 years of loyalty did not pay off for me, and was replaced by a 5 minute quote that will save me thousands down the road. In short, our family owns 3 cars, and my new rates are about half my old rates; so not bad for the little additional time it took to compare quotes and digitally sign a policy.

Obviously, not everyone will save nearly as much as I did, but it's well worth your 5 minutes to find out, even if you end up only saving a few hundred dollars per year, potentially adding up to thousands over a couple years."

Jared

How Much Did You Save With Us?

Tell us how much you saved, and we will might just feature your savings right here on our site along with our other top savers!

First Name*

Last Name*

Savings (estimate)*

Frequency*

Your Email*

[We'll NEVER use your email address to send you promotional/junk email]

Resources

Compare Actual Vehicle Rates
Going Green
Insurance Resources
State Requirements