From breathtaking Niagra Falls to jaw-dropping New York City, the “Empire State” rivals the best of the U.S. for its variety of natural and man-made attractions. New York is home to just over 8 million residents, and NYC ranks as the most densley populated city in the U.S. And even with all these New Yorkers, the state’s pristene 176 state parks maintain the natural wonder of historic New England. It’s no wonder drivers from every state have made New York their vacation spot year after year, and CheapCarInsurance.net is doing its job to make sure all these visitors and residents alike a protected while on the road. To help out, here’s a list of helpful facts every driver should know when driving in New York.
Average Car Insurance Premiums. Average Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income
New York consistently ranks well above average compared to the national average in both categories. Census.gov reports that New York premiums have remained higher than the national average since 1991.
Drunk Driving Fatalities
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reveals that New York’s drunk driving fatalities have been below the national average for several years. Compared to the rest of the U.S., New York appears to have curbed its drunk driving numbers well.
Teen Drinking and Driving
Teens in New York drink and drive much less than the national average. While the Center for Disease Control records New York’s percentage of teen drinking and driving at 6.7 percent in 2011, the national average came in at 10.1 percent.
Vehicular Theft in New York
The FBI reports that New York’s auto thefts have declined, and they remain well below half the national average.
New York seasons can change at the drop of a hat. Insurance laws and regulations aren’t much different, and this list of helpful facts will make sure drivers can stay up-to-date with all the changes.
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in New York
- The New York DMV states that every driver in New York must carry a minimum of liability coverage on their vehilce.
- New York Liability Coverage minimums:
- $25,000 for individual injury and $50,000 for individual death in a car accident.
- $50,000 for multiple individuals’ injuries and $100,000 for multiple deaths in a car accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
- New York requires a vehicle to be insured in order to register the vehicle in the state. Also, the name on the insurance and registration paperwork must match.
New Driver Licensing Requirements
To operate a vehicle in the state of New York, a driver must be 16 years of age or older and have a valid drivers license. If the driver is under 18, the driver must follow the restrictions listed on the New York DMV website. The following lists the requirements to obtain a NY drivers license.
- Vision Test.Every driver must pass the vision test with a visual accuity of 20/40 or better. An applicant can have the test performed by any of the following professionals:
- Physician’s assistant
- Registered nurse
- Nurse professional
A Vision Test Report must be submitted by the professional or by the vision care provider listed in the DMV Online Vision Registry. If it is determined that the applicant requires corrective lenses, a license with a “B” restriction may be issued. Two other vision restrictions include:
- Telescopic Lenses: A “Telescopic Lenses” restriction can be placed on a drivers license after the applicant submits an Eye Test Report for Medical Review Unit form.
- Daylight Driving Restriction: This restriction can be placed on a driver’s license if the vision professional determines their night vision is impaired.
Each vision restriction can be removed by taking the necessary steps listed on the NY DMV website.
- Written Test. Access the Driver’s Manual and Study Guide to prepare for the written test. An applicant must complete either a Driver Education Course, a Pre-licensing Course or pass the written test prior to scheduling the road test.
If the applicant is under age 18, 50 hours of supervised driving experience must be documented with a Certificate of Supervised Driving. Included within the 50 hours must be 10 hours in moderate to heavy traffic and 15 hours of night driving.
- Road Test.The vehicle used in the road test must be safe, insured and registered, and it must be driven to and from the testing facility by a licensed driver. The road test evaluates the applicant’s skills in each of the following areas:
- Traffic signs, signals and markings
- Following distance
- Stopping position
- Lane selection and position
- Anticipation and reaction
- Pay a License Fee. Each applicant is required to pay licensing fees after completing the testing requirements. These fees range from $64.25 to $107.50 depending on the type of license and endorsements. A full list of fees can be found at DMV.NY.gov.
- If under 18 years of age, the applicant must wait 6 months from the date the learner’s permit was released to schedule a road test.
- BAC limit: .08 The New York DMV website has published a document providing all the necessary information regarding New York DUI/DWI laws. Following is a summary of New York’s relevant DUI/DWI violations. While aggravated DUI (BAC of .18 or higher) holds more severe penalties and Driving While Ability Impaired (BAC .05 to .07) holds less severe penalties, DWI (BAC .08) is included here to provide an average example.
- First Offense:
- Minimum $500 and maximum $1,000 fine.
- Maximum 1 year imprisonment.
- Age 21 and older receives a minimum 6 month license revocation, and under 21 receives a minimum 1 year license revocation.
- Second Offense within 10 Years:
- Class E Felony
- Minimum $1,000 and maximum $5,000 fine.
- Maximum 4 years imprisonment.
- Age 21 and older receives a minimum 1 year license revocatoin, and under 21 receives a 1 year revocation or until age 21, whichever is longer.
- Third Offense within 10 Years:
- Class D Felony
- Minimum $2,000 and maximum $10,000 fine.
- Maximum 7 year imprisonment.
- Age 21 and older receives a minimum 1 year license revocation, and under 21 receives a 1 year revocation or until age 21, whichever is longer.
Texting & Driving Laws
While the penalty for jumping off a building in New York is death, flirting only holds a $25 fine! But for drivers, if one ever gets a chance to drive an ice cream truck, remember that it is illegal to back up to make a sale!
State Department of Insurance
New York Department of Financial Services
For a list of DFS offices and to get directions, visit www.dfs.ny.gov.
Contact the Consumer Hotline at (800) 342-3736
Local calls can be made to (212) 480-6400
Department of Transportation
Department of Motor Vehicles
New York Department of Motor Vehicles
For the department’s website, to find a local office and to get directions, visit http://dmv.ny.gov/