Ohio, the gateway to the Midwest, has been an economic powerhouse for decades. With 312 miles of Lake Erie coastland, the state hosts cargo ports, beaches and boating businesses all along the lake front. With a vibrant jazz scene, a rock-n-roll history museum, lake and river cruises, wineries and amusement parks, Ohio is bustling with great activities for visitors from all across the nation. Drivers come from miles around for Cleveland cuisine, and CheapCarInsurance.net makes keeping those drivers safe much easier. This list of essential information will help drivers quickly and easily find everything they need to know about staying protected on “The Buckeye State’s” roads.
Average Car Insurance Premiums and Average Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income
Record lows in 2007 were reported for Ohio’s average car insurance premiums as a percentage of income. Census.gov reported that the state’s premiums have been consistently below the national average in both categories.
Drunk Driving Fatalities
Ohio’s drunk driving fatalities increased a great deal between 2010 and 2012. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported that the nation and the state were even in 2011; however, in 2012 Ohio climbed 4 percent, while the nation climbed one percent.
Teen Drinking and Driving
Ohio’s teens drink and drive slightly less than the national average. The Center for Disease Control indicates the state’s average is 9.3 percent, while the national average is 10.1 percent.
Vehicular Theft in Ohio
Ohio’s vehicle theft rate dropped in 2012 to 169. While the FBI reported a drop in the national average, at 229 it was still far above the state’s average.
Driving through Ohio is an adventure every American should take. To simplify the drive, the following article summarizes the necessary driving laws and regulations for Ohio in an easy-to-follow format.
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Ohio
- Car insurance is required in the state of Ohio for any vehicle operated on the state’s roadways. The Ohio Department of Insurance defines the minimum coverage as Liability Insurance.
- Liability Coverage minimums for Ohio:
- $25,000 per person to cover injury or death.
- $50,000 per accident involving injuries or deaths.
- $25,000 to pay for property damage.
New Driver Licensing Requirements:
- According to the Ohio Driver’s Manual, the state uses a Graduated Driver’s License program to allow young drivers to improve their driving skills.
- Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC). This permit is available for drivers ages 15 years, 6 months to under 16 years. Applicants must successfully pass the vision and written exams to obtain this permit. While holding this permit, the applicant must follow these guidelines:
- Must keep the permit at least 6 months
- Must drive with a legal parent, guardian or driving instructor.
- Once the applicant reaches age 16, he/she may drive with a licensed driver age 21 or older.
- Must complete a Driver Education Course consisting of 24 hours of classroom work and 8 hours of driving instruction
- Must complete 50 hours of supervised driving training with 10 of those hours including night driving
- May not drive between the hours of 12am to 6am unless properly supervised
- All occupants must wear safety belts
- Probationary License (under 18). Applicants under the age of 18 may hold this license. While driving with this license, the following applies:
- May not carry more than one unrelated passenger.
- Drivers between the ages of 17 and 18 may not drive between 1am and 5am unless supervised or traveling to/from school, work, a religious activity or an emergency.
- Drivers under 17 may not drive between 12am and 6am.
- All occupants must wear safety belts.
- Vision Exam. In order to pass this test, applicants must demonstrate a visual acuity of 20/40 or better and a visual field of 140 degrees or better. Visual acutiy between 20/40 and 20/70 may receive a daytime driving restriction. Corrective lenses are allowed; however, if worn to pass the test, they must be worn at all times while driving.
- Written Test. This tests consists of two parts: Ohio’s motor vehicle regulations and the state’s traffic signs.
- The regulations portion has approximately 20 multiple questions, 15 of which must be answered correctly to pass.
- The portion covering traffic signs also consists of approximately 20 questions, 15 of which must be answered correctly.
- Study materials for the tests can be accessed on the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle’s website.
- Driving Test. Consisting of two parts, the driving test evaluates the applicant’s driving skills and maneuverability.
- The driving portion assesses the applicant’s ability to:
- Stop and start
- Turn around
- Back up
- Turn and use hand signals
- Lane management
- Following distance
- The maneuverability portion tests the applicant’s ability to steer the vehicle in tight spots. An explanation of the test can be seen on the MVD website.
- Temporary Permit, $22
- Driver License:
- Age 21 or older, $23
- Age 20, $19.25
- Age 19, $20.50
- Age 18, $21.75
- Age 17, $23
- Age 16, $24.25
- BAC limit: .08 Ohio Law has made it mandatory for every OVI (Operating a Vehicle while under the Influence of drugs or alcohol) conviction to receive a minimum jail time. Following are the general penalties for Ohio OVI convictions:
- First Offense:
- Fine: $250 to $1,000
- License suspension: 6 months to 3 years
- Jail: 3 days to 6 months
- Second Offense within 6 Years:
- Fine: $350 to $1,500
- License suspension: 1 to 5 years
- Jail: 10 days to 1 year
- Third Offense within 6 Years:
- Fine: $350 to $1,500
- License suspension: 1 to 10 years
- Jail: 30 days to 1 year
- Ignition Interlock Device required
- Fourth and subsequent OVI convictions can result in permanent license suspension.
- Drivers under 21 years of age may be charged with OVI with a BAC as low as .02.
Texting & Driving Laws
According to Distraction.gov, Ohio has banned texting for all drivers, and the state has banned all cell phone use for novice drivers.
Ohio has apparently had some issues with vehicles in their state, and a few of their laws reflect this problem. For instance, it has been prohibited to ride on the roof of a taxi cab. It is against the law to run out of gas, and one may not scare horses by honking the car horn. It is also illegal to drive a car while sitting on someone’s lap!