“Big Wyoming” gets its nickname from the expansive wide-open ranges across its vast landscape. With the clash of the Great Plains and the Rocky Mountains comes the unrivaled wild-western panoramas that make Wyoming earn it nickname, “The Cowboy State”. Whether covered in snow or bristling in long grass, the Grand Teton National Park introduces visitors to the Rocky Mountains all year long. Open ranges and open skies make this wilderness state a sought-after destination for many drivers across the nation. Cheapcarinsurance.net is making getting around the state a little easier by finding and organizing all the essential car insurance facts and laws in this one stop spot.
Car Insurance Quotes for Wyoming
Car insurance quotes are for one car and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 comprehensive and collision deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 40 years old, female, married, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no moving violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicles are assumed to be garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Car insurance quotes include commonly available discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.
Average Car Insurance Premiums
Wyoming’s average premiums were recorded at 632 in 2008 by NAIC.org. This was over 150 below that year’s national average. That same year, the state’s average premiums as a percentage of income hit their lowest point since 1991. At 1.18 percent, they remained just below the nation’s 1.57 percent. Through 2013 both premiums and premiums as a percentage of income have remained below the national average.
Drunk Driving Fatalities
According to The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the national drunk driving fatalities percentage was 2 percent higher than Wyoming’s in 2011. However, the state saw a surge of fatalities and ended 2012 with an average of 32, 1 percent above the nation’s. Fatalities fell below the averge in 2013 but once again rose above the average in 2014.
Teen Drinking and Driving
The Centers for Disease Control indicates that teen drinking and driving in Wyoming exceeds the national average.
Vehicular Theft in Wyoming
Wyoming enjoyed a vehicle theft rate nearly 128 points below the national average in 2012 and the rate has remained consistently low and below the national average through 2014.
LAWS & REGULATIONS
Change seems to come slow across such a wide open state, but not so much with its driving laws and regulations. This list of Wyoming’s important laws and regulations provides the state’s drivers an easy-to-read source to help protect them on the road.
Wyoming’s Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance
- Wyoming’s Mandatory Auto Insurance Law states that every vehicle driven in the state must be covered by Liability Insurance.
- Liability minimums in Wyoming:
- $25,000 per person in an accident.
- $50,000 per accident.
- $20,000 covers property damage in an accident.
New Driver Licensing Requirements
- The Wyoming Driver’s License Manual neatly outlines the licensing process for new and out-of-state drivers. If an applicant holds a valid out-of-state license, he/she may waive the written and skills tests. This also applies to a qualified driver who has completed an approved driver education course. For drivers under the age of 18, the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) recommends obtaining an instruction permit to gain valuable driving training prior to being eligible for a full driver license.
- Instruction Permit. The following is needed for this permit:
- Applicants must have turned 15 years old.
- The applicants must pass the written test and the knowledge test.
- The applicant may only drive when a licensed driver age 18 or older is occupying the seat adjacent to the driver.
- The applicant must drive for 50 hours including 10 hours of night driving. This must be documented by the supervising driver(s).
- The applicant must hold the permit for at least 6 months.
- Intermediate License. After passing the road skills test and the requirements for the permit, an applicant who has turned 16 years old may apply for this license. The following restrictions apply:
- More than one unrelated passenger under the age of 18 is not allowed in the vehicle unless the applicant is being supervised by a licensed driver age 18 or older.
- All applicants must wear seat belts.
- The applicant is restricted from driving between 11pm and 5am unless:
- the applicant is accompanied by an adult as listed above.
- the applicant is required to drive for a medical emergency/necessity.
- the applicant is going to/from school or work.
- At age 16 years, 6 months, the applicant may apply for a Full Driver License if he/she has:
- held the Intermediate license for at least 6 months with no violations.
- Completed a driver education course.
- Satisfied all requirements for the Intermediate License.
- Vision Screening. An applicant’s peripheral vision must be at least 120 degrees and his/her visual acuity must be at least 20/40 to obtain an unrestricted driver license. Corrective lenses may be worn to pass the test, and restrictions apply for lenses and differing levels of vision.
- Knowledge Test. Wyoming’s Driver’s Manual must be studied in preparation for the knowledge test. The computer-based test evaluates the applicant’s knowledge in three areas:
- Identifying traffic signs by shape, color and/or symbol
- Identifying pavement markings and traffic signals
- Understanding traffic laws, rules, regulations and proper driving procedures
- If an applicant fails the test, he/she may re-take it the same day unless an excessive number of questions were answered wrong.
- Skills Test. This test evaluates the driver’s vehicle handling skills. The specific requirements are outlined in the driver’s manual, and the vehicle provided by the applicant must be insured, registered and safe.
- Upon failure of the skills test, the applicant must wait 24 hours to re-test. If the applicant misses more than 13 points, he/she must wait 36 hours.
- Fees. Each applicant must pay the applicable fees:
- Instruction Permit: $20
- Intermediate License: $10
- Regular License: $20
- BAC limit: .08 Wyoming Law (§ 31-5-233) describes the legal factors in the state’s DUI evaluations. The minimum penalties for DUI in Wyoming are:
- First Offense:
- Jail: maximum 6 months
- License revocation: 90 days
- Fine: maximum $750
- Ignition Interlock Device: required if BAC is over .15
- Second Offense within 10 years:
- Jail: 7 days to 6 months
- License revocation: 1 year
- Fine: $250 to $750
- Ignition Interlock Device: required
- Third Offense within 10 years:
- Jail: 1 month to 6 months
- License revocation: 3 years
- Fine: $750 to $3,000
- Ignition Interlock Device: lifetime
- First Offense: License suspension for 6 months
- Second and subsequent offense(s): suspension for 18 months
Texting & Driving Laws
Distraction.gov reports that Wyoming allows no texting for all drivers, and novice drivers may not operate a cell phone while driving.
Alcohol seems to play some part in many of Wyoming’s laws. For example, one may not skydive, ski, buy junk, buy rubber, occupy a mine or walk into a sawmill while intoxicated. Other, not so alcoholic, laws include the prohibition of showering on Wednesdays and taking pictures of rabbits in June. One may not tattoo a horse to disguise it, and one may not fish with a firearm!