Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Austin, Texas

Want to know more about Austin and how to acquire cheap car insurance? Well, Austin is known as a weird city, and its motto is Keep Austin Weird. The people are obviously very proud of their city's eccentricity.

Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Austin, TX. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions

Most of the time, driving conditions are great because the sun is shining, and the weather is relatively pleasant. However, there are times when hurricanes affect this state. During the wintertime, snowstorms can cause difficulties on the roads, but these snowstorms are rare. Ice storms cause the roads to freeze, but these occurrences typically last for one or two days only.

Odd Laws

Unusual laws on the books in Texas include a ban on selling your eyes, a requirement that you obtain permission if you're going to eat garbage from a neighbor's trash container and a prohibition against milking a neighbor's cow.

Crime Statistics

In 2015, authorities reported 35,399 property crimes and 2,331 car thefts in Austin, the FBI says.

Safety Requirements

Seatbelt Law

State law also requires that all drivers and passengers buckle up, and that children under age 8 ride in a child safety seat or booster seat unless a child is at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall, according to the Texas Department of Transportation. Fines for violating these requirements range from $25 to $250, plus court costs.

Helmet Law

For motorcycles, all riders under age 21 have to wear helmets. Riders 21 and above don't need to wear a helmet if they've passed a motorcycle safety course or if they’re covered by an approved insurance plan.

Handheld Law

A City of Austin ordinance prohibits using any electronic handheld device while driving a vehicle or riding a bicycle. Fines for violating the ordinance go as high as $500

Texting Law

In Austin, texting is prohibited.

Impaired Driving Law

In Texas, a driver can be charged with DWI if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08, according to the state Department of Transportation. However, a driver can be considered impaired due to alcohol or other drugs, regardless of BAC. A driver or passenger can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle. 

Someone convicted if DWI for the first time in Texas faces:

  • A fine up to $2,000
  • A jail sentence up to 180 days
  • Loss of your driver’s license for up to a year
  • An annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to keep your driver's license

If a driver gets two or more DWI convictions within five years, he or she has to install a special ignition switch that stops that person from driving if you’ve been drinking.

Under Texas law, you can be accused of child endangerment for driving while intoxicated if any passengers under age 16 were in your vehicle. A conviction can lead to a $10,000 fine, a two-year prison term and loss of your driver’s license for 180 days.

To Get Free Austin Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Austin, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!