Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado Springs, Colorado

Want to learn more about Colorado Springs and how you can get cheap auto insurance? Well, Its nearly 700,000 residents are justly proud of Colorado Springs’ many attractions. While the mountain scenery, world-class ski slopes and proximity to Pike’s Peak alone draw numerous visitors annually, they are not the only enticements. Others unique to the area include:

  • The Cave of the Winds
  • The Pioneers’ Museum
  • The Cripple Creek Gold Mine.
  • The Ghost town Museum
  • Rock Ledge Ranch Historic Site When enjoying the area’s numerous charms, residents and visitors alike should pay particular attention to the specifics of driving in the region.

Cheap Car Insurance will compare affordable auto insurance for you in Colorado Springs, CO. We will make sure to get you the best car insurance rates in town.

Driving Hazards in Colorado Springs

In addition to falling rocks, changeable weather and unpredictable wildlife, anyone driving in Colorado Springs is bound to encounter some steep terrain. When navigating mountain roads, the Colorado Driver’s Handbook recommends routinely shifting to a lower gear when traveling downhill. Colorado law also mandates that vehicles going down must always yield to those coming up.

Traffic Laws Specific to Colorado Springs

The City Council of Colorado Springs has established mandatory minimum fines for certain traffic infractions. Predetermined and non-negotiable, they include those imposed for:

  • Failure to honor a stop sign.
  • Speeding.
  • Running a red light.
  • Driving uninsured.

Car Theft in Colorado Springs

No city in the nation is immune to car theft. FBI statistics show that in the year 2012, Colorado Springs ranked 57th in the nation with 2,042 vehicles stolen. This represents an increase of 25 percent over the 1,288 car thefts reported there in 2010.

Though in 2015, authorities reported an increase 2,414 burglaries. Colorado Springs had 12,363 larcenies and 1,727 vehicle thefts, according to the FBI.

Safety Requirements in Colorado Springs

Seat Belt Law

Under Colorado law, an adult driver or front-seat passenger must buckle up. The minimum fine for violating this law is $65.

As it relates to children riding in vehicles, the law is a bit more complicated, according to the Colorado State Patrol:

  • A child must ride in a rear-facing child safety seat until he or she is at least 1 year old and weighs at least 20 pounds.
  • A child 1 to 4 weighing 20 to 40 pounds must ride in a forward-facing or rear-facing child safety seat.
  • A child at least 4 and weighing over 40 pounds must ride in a child booster seat or be restrained with a child safety belt-positioning device. All children must ride in booster seats until age 8.
  • A child who is at least 8 must be properly restrained with a seat belt or child restraint system.

The minimum fine for a child not being properly restrained in a car is $82.

Distracted Driving Law

State law bans texting while driving. A first-time offender can be fined $300. Also, any driver under 18 is prohibited from using a cellphone.

Helmet Law

Motorcycle operators and passengers 18 and over are not required to wear helmets, but use of a helmet by an operator or passenger under 18 is mandated.

In Colorado, bicyclists are exempt from wearing helmets.

Driving Impaired in Colorado Springs

Colorado’s impaired driving law has two types of crime: DUI (driving under the influence) and DWAI (driving while ability impaired). Under DUI, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for a driver 21 and over is 0.08 percent; for a driver under 21, it’s 0.02 percent. The limit for DWAI is 0.05 percent.

For a first-time DUI offender, the penalties are a nine-month loss of your driver’s license, a fine of up to $1,000, a jail term of up to one year and up to 96 hours of community service. A first-time DWAI offender faces penalties that are less harsh: 8 points toward suspension of your driver’s license, a fine of up to $500, a jail term of up to 180 days and up to 48 hours of community service.

To Get Free Colorado Springs Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Colorado Springs, Colorado Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Colorado Springs, Colorado

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!