Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Costa Mesa, California

Locate cheap car insurance in Costa Mesa, a southern California shopping mecca that hosts the Orange County Fair each summer. Costa Mesa was incorporated in 1953 as a semi-rural farming town. The city today is home to about 114,000, its economy focused mainly on retail and services. With a staff of nearly 4,000, El Pollo Loco, a restaurant chain based in Costa Mesa, is its main employer. Also headquartered in Costa Mesa is the major consumer credit reporting agency Experian. The South Coast Plaza shopping mall is among the highest volume retail centers in the country, drawing more than 24 million visitors annually.

Driving Conditions in Costa Mesa

Interstate 405, known as the San Diego Freeway, passes through the northern section of Costa Mesa, merging with Interstate 5 just southeast of the city. I-405 runs northwest to Westminster about 12 miles away. State Route 73 and State Route 55, known as the Costa Mesa Freeway, both end in Costa Mesa.

The California Department of Transportation in 2015 labeled the northbound stretch between Costa Mesa and Fountain Valley the state’s second-worst traffic bottleneck. Still, the average commute time for Costa Mesa is only 21 minutes, five minutes shorter than the national average, according to Census Bureau data. Live traffic cams and maps can be found online at www.dot.ca.gov.

Unique Laws in Costa Mesa

After California legalized recreational use of marijuana in 2016, the City of Costa Mesa passed a temporary ban on retail sales of marijuana and marijuana products, and has since extended it.

California recently passed laws requiring film producers to get permission from a board-certified pediatrician before filming a child under 1 month old. Also recent is SB 1140, which exempts clergy who object to same-sex marriages from having to perform them. New laws also prohibit picketing a funeral one hour before or one hour after the service.

Newcomers are often pleased to learn that California’s liquor laws are not nearly as strict as other states, with sales allowed at nearly all hours, plus Sundays. They should also take note that California drivers who smoke with a minor 17 and under in the car can be fined up to $100, according to the California Health and Safety Code.

Costa Mesa Crime Statistics

Violent crime in Costa Mesa are below national averages, but property crime rates are above.

Data compiled by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for 2016 shows 412 violent crimes in Costa Mesa, only one of which was murder. The local violent crime rate of 361 offenses per 100,000 residents is below average violent crime rate of 386 offenses per 100,000 in the U.S.

The property crime rate in Costa Mesa was 4,050 offenses per 100,000 residents, also above the U.S. average of 2,451 incidents per 100,000 residents. Within the city, 508 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 530 incidents per 100,000 residents. The national average is 236 incidents per 100,000 people.

Costa Mesa Safety Requirements

California law requires children under age 2 to be secured in a rear-facing safety seat unless they weigh more than 40 pounds or at least 40 inches tall. All children under age 8 or shorter than 4 feet 9 inches tall must ride in a federally-approved restraint system.

As of 2017, drivers may not use a hand-held device while driving even to access GPS; GPS systems must be mounted within the car. Minors may not use cellphones while driving unless in an emergency.

According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, the “Click It or Ticket” program ensures drivers they will receive a ticket if they or their passengers do not wear safety belts.

Costa Mesa Impaired Driving Laws

Drivers in California be charged with driving under the influence if they are found to have a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of .08 or higher, according to the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles. For those driving vehicles requiring a commercial driver’s license, the BAC threshold falls to .04 whether the driver holds a commercial driver’s license or not. Any trace of alcohol – or a BAC of .01 – can result in charges for drivers under 21 or those on DUI probation. If arrested, a driver may immediately lose his license and be issued a temporary one for 30 days. No matter your background, contact us for cheap auto insurance in Costa Mesa.

To Get Free Costa Mesa Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Costa Mesa, California Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Costa Mesa, California

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!