Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Gresham, Oregon

Locate cheap car insurance in Gresham, a mid-sized city just east of Portland on the Oregon-Washington border. Named for Civil War Gen. and U.S. Postmaster Gen. Walter Quinton Gresham, the city was settled in the mid-1800s and incorporated in 1905. Once a farming town, the city today is the state’s fourth largest, with an estimated population of 111,523. Located in Multnomah County, the city encompasses about 23 square miles only 12 miles from downtown Portland. The Oregon coast is about 70 miles to the west. Mount Hood Community College is the only college in its city limits.

Driving Conditions in Gresham

Interstate 84 and Route both pass east-west through Gresham, and both take drivers due west into Portland. In recent years, congestion and delays in the Portland metro have gotten worse in recent years, the Oregon Department of Transportation says, likely due to an increasing population, improved economy and lower gas prices. I-84, known as Vietnam Veterans Memorial Highway as it passes through Gresham, is among the area’s most congested freeways, with rush hour lasting from 12:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. on most weekdays, according to data from the transportation department. Nearly 44 percent of Gresham residents commute into Portland, according to U.S. Census Bureau data.

It should be noted that when driving in rural Oregon counties, a new state law allows motorists to pump their own gas. This is applicable only in counties with a population of 40,000 or less (Note: Gresham’s county, Multnomah, is not among them).

The average commute time for Gresham is just over 27 minutes, about a minute longer than the U.S. average and five minutes more than the Oregon average. Real time traffic advisories and conditions can be accessed at tripcheck.com, a site maintained by the Oregon Department of Transportation.

Unique Laws in Gresham

Hoping to curb a reported increase in RVs being parked on city streets for extended periods, Gresham City leaders in 2017 passed an ordinance instituting a new permit system for RVs owners who want to park on the street. Permits are good for only 72 hours. The good news is thus far, there is no cost for the permits. There is, however, a limit to the number of permits that a resident can request — six per year.

Oregon laws ban car owners from leaving vehicle doors open “longer than necessary,” according to some of its more obscure statutes. However, it is OK to drive on sidewalks as long as one gives pedestrians the right of way. Many stop signs are marked, “Right turn permitted without stopping,” meaning those turning right should basically yield.

Gresham Crime Statistics

Violent and property crime rates in general in Gresham are on par with U.S. averages, while auto theft is high — about three times the national average.

Data compiled by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for 2016 states there were 424 violent crimes in Gresham, five of which were murder or manslaughter. The local violent crime rate of 380 offenses per 100,000 residents is just a hair above the average violent crime rate of 386 offenses per 100,000 in the U.S.

The property crime rate in Gresham for the same year was 2,749 offenses per 100,000 residents, also just above the U.S. average of 2,451 incidents per 100,000 residents. Within the city, 813 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 729 incidents per 100,000 residents. The national average is 236 incidents per 100,000 people.

Gresham safety requirements

According to the Oregon Department of Transportation, children must be restrained in safety seats until they weigh 40 pounds and infants must be secured rear-facing until they are 2 years old, unless the child turned a year old before May 26, 2017. State laws ban texting and use of handheld phones unless it is an emergency situation. Oregon lawmakers in 2017 passed a more strict hands-free law that doesn’t allow drivers to touch their phones or any mobile device while they are behind the wheel. Drivers also may not have devices in their laps.

Gresham impaired driving laws

Like most other states in the U.S., Oregon sets its blood alcohol concentration at .08 or higher for charges of driving under the influence. For those driving vehicles requiring a commercial driver’s license, the BAC is .04 and the BAC drops to any amount for those under 21. A first offense is a misdemeanor resulted in a 90-day license revocation, minimum $1,000 fine and possible jail time of up to one year. First offenders may be eligible to drive, however, under a hardship or probationary permit. Whatever your situation, contact us to find cheap car insurance in Gresham, Oregon.

To Get Free Gresham Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Gresham, Oregon Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Gresham, Oregon

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!