Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in McAllen, Texas

Find cheap car insurance in McAllen, Texas, a border town that boasts one of the lowest cost of living in the country. A popular gathering point for visitors looking for 80-degree winters or crossing the border into Mexico, McAllen is just across the Rio Grande from the Mexican city of Reynosa. The cost of living in McAllen is more than 16 percent below the national average, and Forbes recently ranked the city as the third best for job growth.

Even those who have never been to McAllen may have heard of its public library. Built within a vacant Wal-Mart building that was once an eyesore, the library has won numerous design awards and photos of it have made the rounds on social media.

Driving Conditions in McAllen

U.S. Route 83 is the main business corridor in McAllen, running west along the Rio Grande all the way to west Texas. Other major highways are U.S. Highway 281 and Texas 107. The average commute time for McAllen is about 22 minutes, four minutes shorter than the national average, according to Census Bureau data.

If you decide to drive over the border, be aware that many car insurance companies do not extend coverage into Mexico. Temporary coverage can be purchased, however. Current information on accidents, construction and weather-related delays is available at transguide.dot.state.tx.us, or drivetexas.org.

Unique Laws in McAllen

McAllen enforces still fines for those who violate city parking ordinances by parking on lawns or sidewalks. Those who get a warning have up to 72 hours to move their car before a judge determines if he or she must pay the $500 fine.

Beginning this year, applicants for a Texas driver’s license must take a course in distracted driving in addition to other requirements. A course specifically for drivers 35 and older is expected to be added in 2018. In Texas, adults can legally ride in the bed of a truck, according to Texas state laws. There are even exceptions when it comes to children riding in truck beds, one being if the truck is the family’s only vehicle. After an auto accident, there is a two-year statute of limitations on filing a lawsuit for personal injury or property damage.

McAllen Crime Statistics

FBI statistics compiled for 2016 show 215 violent crimes in McAllen, three of which were either murder or manslaughter. About half were aggravated assaults. The local violent crime rate of 151 offenses per 100,000 residents is below the average U.S. violent crime rate of 386 per 100,000.

Though violent crime is low, property crime is a different story.

The property crime rate in McAllen was 3,142 per 100,000 residents; this is above the U.S. average of 2,451 property crimes per 100,000. Car thefts, however, are rare among these. Within the city, 117 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 82 per 100,000 residents, far below the national average of 220 incidents per 100,000.

McAllen Safety Requirements

Texas law requires children younger than 8 to ride in car seats unless he or she is taller than 4 feet, 9 inches, the Texas Department of Transportation states. A safety seat is also required to be used according to manufacturer’s directions. Not complying with those directions, according to TxDOT, could result in a $250 fine. Texas officials have stepped up enforcement in light of a 2017 study of nearly 14,000 children in 14 Texas cities that shows 33.5 percent of children from birth to age 4 were buckled incorrectly or not at all.

A statewide ban on driving while texting went into effect in September 2017. Seat belts are mandatory for all drivers and front-seat passengers and for minors whether in the front or rear seats, Texas law states. Fines and court costs of up to $200 can result for not buckling up.

McAllen Impaired Driving Laws

In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration) or higher. However, a driver can also be deemed intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs, regardless of BAC. Both drivers and passengers also can be fined $500 for having an open alcohol container in a car.

DWI first offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain a driver’s license. Charges are enhanced if there is a passenger younger than 15 in the car. Regardless of your driving record, it’s possible to find cheap car insurance in McAllen; contact us for rate comparisons.

The Rubix Cube is is not the only twisty puzzle, there are many more. Learn about the Pyraminx, the 2×2 and 4×4 cubes, the Megaminx on Ruwix.

To Get Free McAllen Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance McAllen, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!