Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Mesquite, Texas

Find cheap car insurance in Mesquite, the official Rodeo Capital of Texas. Home to an estimated 145,000, the City of Mesquite is an eastern Dallas suburb situated at a crossroads of four major highways.

The “Big Town Mall” was the first air-conditioned shopping mall in the U.S. when it opened in 1959. Today, the Mesquite ProRodeo and Arts Center are among the top attractions. At the Arts Center is a Sept. 11 memorial added in 2015 and featuring a beam recovered from the remains of Ground Zero. Though Mesquite is its own incorporated city, it is considered part of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex – often shortened to D-FW.

Driving Conditions in Mesquite

Along the east section of the Dallas loop, Mesquite occupies both sides of I-635. Interstate 30 runs across the city’s northern portion and Interstate 20 traverses the south side. With light traffic, Mesquite is about 20 minutes from downtown Dallas, but don’t count on light traffic. In 2015, Mesquite was named No. 8 on a list of the top 10 worst DFW commutes, citing a one-way average drive time of 28.6 minutes.

The average commute times for both the Dallas-Fort Worth metro and the U.S. is just under 26 minutes. Current information on accidents, construction and weather-related delays is available at transguide.dot.state.tx.us, or drivetexas.org.

Unique Laws in Mesquite

Mesquite in 2011 began allowing beer and wine sales within the city after long being known as one of the last holdouts in Dallas County.

Beginning this year, applicants for a Texas driver’s license must take a course in distracted driving in addition to other requirements. A course specifically for drivers 35 and older is expected to be added in 2018.

In Texas, adults can legally ride in the bed of a truck, according to Texas state laws. There are even exceptions when it comes to children riding in truck beds, one being if the truck is the family’s only vehicle. After an auto accident, there is a two-year statute of limitations on filing a lawsuit for personal injury or property damage.

Mesquite Crime Statistics

FBI statistics compiled for 2016 show 603 violent crimes in Mesquite for that year, about half of which were aggravated assaults and two were murder or manslaughter. Mesquite’s violent crime rate of 414 offenses per 100,000 residents is slightly higher than the average U.S. violent crime rate of 386 offense per 100,000. The property crime rate in Mesquite for 2016 was 3,796 per 100,000 residents, also higher than the U.S. average, which is 2,451 per 100,000 residents.

Within Mesquite, 734 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 506 incidents per 100,00 people. In the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro, there were 20,229 cases of auto theft in 2016, or a rate of 309 incidents per 100,000 people.

Mesquite Safety Requirements

Texas law requires children younger than 8 to ride in car seats unless he or she is taller than 4 feet, 9 inches, the Texas Department of Transportation states. A safety seat is also required to be used according to manufacturer’s directions. Not complying with those directions, according to TxDOT, could result in a $250 fine. Texas officials have stepped up enforcement in light of a 2017 study of nearly 14,000 children in 14 Texas cities that shows 33.5 percent of children from birth to age 4 were buckled incorrectly or not at all.

A statewide ban on driving while texting went into effect in September 2017. Seat belts are mandatory for all drivers and front-seat passengers and for minors whether in the front or rear seats, Texas law states. Fines and court costs of up to $200 can result for not buckling up.

Mesquite Impaired Driving Laws

According to state laws, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration) in Texas. However, a driver can also be deemed intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Both drivers and passengers also can be fined $500 for having an open alcohol container in a car.

First offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, 3 to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain a driver’s license. Charges are enhanced if there is a passenger younger than 15 in the car. Regardless of your background or circumstances, it’s not impossible to find cheap car insurance in Mesquite; contact us for rate comparisons.

To Get Free Mesquite Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Mesquite, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!