Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Stockton, California

Want to know more about Stockton and how to acquire cheap auto insurance? Well, in the heart of California on the San Joaquin Valley, Stockton is home to an estimated 316,000 residents along with the University of the Pacific, the oldest university in California. With one of only two inland sea ports, Stockton boasts an extensive network of waterways that have been fished and navigated for centuries.

Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Stockton, California. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving conditions in Stockton

Stockton traffic is not considered badly congested when compared to other major cities, having been ranked among the top 5 similar-sized cities with the lowest annual hours of traffic delays by WalletHub in 2016. Interstate 5 and State Route 99, major north-south corridors, pass through it. A traffic map and information can be accessed at or at

Unique laws in Stockton

Drivers who smoke with a minor in the car can be fined up to $100. California state laws prohibit motorists or cyclists from wearing earphones or earbuds in both ears while driving.

“Pedestrian scrambles” are a series of crisscross, diagonal cross walks that allow pedestrians to cross in any direction, including diagonally, at the same time while signals stop all traffic.

On mountain roads, when two vehicles meet on a steep road where neither vehicle can pass, law dictates that the one facing downhill must yield the right-of-way by backing up until the car going uphill can pass.

Stockton crime statistics

The Stockton-Lodi metro area landed at No. 6 on the National Insurance Crime Bureau’s recent ranking of cities with the highest vehicle theft rates, with a rate of 641.23 incidents per 100,000 people. This is compared to the national average of 220.2 incidents per 100,000 people.

Stockton safety requirements

California requires children younger than 2 are secured in a rear-facing safety seat, unless he or she is over 40 pounds or at least 40 inches tall. All children under age 8 or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall must ride in a federally-approved restraint system. Driver and all passengers are required by California laws to wear seat belts. As of 2017, drivers may not use a hand-held device while driving even to access GPS; GPS systems must be mounted within the car. Minors may not use cellphones while driving unless in an emergency.

Stockton impaired driving laws

Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher are charged with driving under the influence, according to the California Department of Motor Vehicles. For those driving vehicles requiring a CDL, the BAC is .04, whether they have a CDL or not. The BAC drops to .01 for those under 21 or those on DUI probation. If arrested, a driver may immediately lose his license and be issued a temporary one for 30 days. He or she may request a DMV administrative hearing within 10 days. On a first conviction, an offender would lose his license for 6 months and must complete a DUI program, file a California Insurance Proof Certificate and pay all fees before reinstatement. Any alcohol carried within a vehicle must be full and sealed. If not sealed, it must be carried in the trunk.

To Get Free Stockton Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Stockton, California Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Stockton, California

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for affordable car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It's easier to get discounted car insurance with a car that has a high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!