Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Virginia Beach, Virginia

Want to get more knowledgable about Virginia Beach and how to acquire cheap car insurance? Well, Virginia Beach has the highest population of any city located in the state of Virginia. The city was incorporated in 1906 as a resort town and continues to be a popular vacation spot to this day. Although much of the economy in the city of Virginia Beach depends upon the resorts and restaurants that attract visitors on a seasonal basis, military bases in the city employ thousands of people from the area.

Cheap Car Insurance is here to help you get the best car insurance to fit your needs in Virginia Beach, VA. Get your free auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions in Virginia Beach

Traffic in Virginia Beach is especially congested during the summer months because it is considered to be a resort town. Commuters and vacationers may sit in traffic for extended periods of time during the vacation season, and construction in the surrounding areas can make traffic worse during this time of year. Travelers can find out more about live traffic conditions by visiting the website of the Virginia Department of Transportation.

Unique Laws in Virginia Beach

Visitors to Virginia Beach should be aware of a unique law that restricts their ability to drive within the city. According to the Virginia Beach Motor Vehicle Code, drivers are not permitted to drive a vehicle past the same section of Atlantic Avenue within a three hour period. This law is intended to prevent congestion in this area of the city.

In Virginia, a driver is required to honk the horn when passing other cars. In Virginia Beach, it’s unlawful to drive by the same place within 30 minutes on Atlantic Avenue.

Virginia Beach Crime Statistics

In 2015, according to the FBI, 435 vehicles were reported stolen in Virginia Beach, and 9,987 property crimes were reported.

Virginia Beach Vehicle and Driving Safety Requirements

Seat Belt Law

In Virginia, drivers and passengers who are 16 and older must wear a seat belt when sitting in the front seat. Children under 16 must wear a seat belt or be secured in an appropriate child safety seat no matter where in the vehicle they are; child restraint devices are required for children through age 7.

Cellphone Law

Virginia bans texting while driving for all drivers, with a $125 fine for a first offense and a $250 fine for a second offense, according to the Washington Post. However, drivers 18 and over still can make calls on a handheld or hands-free cellphone.

Helmet Law

Across Virginia, a motorcycle operator or passenger must wear a helmet. In Virginia Beach, a bicycle operator or passenger age 14 and under must wear a helmet.

Impaired Driving Law

In Virginia, a first-time DUI offender age 21 and over — with blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.08 percent — is fined $250 to $2,500 and receives a one-year license suspension. A BAC of 0.15 percent or above faces stiffer penalties, including a minimum jail term of five days.

If a someone under 21 is convicted for the first time of driving with a BAC of 0.02 percent up to 0.08 percent, the driver is hit with a one-year suspension of driving privileges, and a fine of at least $500 or completion of at least 50 hours of community service.

To Get Free Virginia Beach Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Virginia Beach, Virginia Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!