Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Wichita Falls, Texas

Locate cheap car insurance in Wichita, the north Texas city about 15 miles from the Oklahoma border. Home to approximately 105,000 residents, Wichita Falls is the site of Sheppard Air Force Base, the area’s largest employer. In Wichita Falls’ downtown, the Newby-McMahon Building, built in 1919, is known as the “world’s littlest skyscraper” and was shortly afterward featured in Robert Ripley’s “Believe It or Not!” syndicated column. The small but tall, wickedly narrow building is reportedly the result of an investment fraud and was at the time of completion quite an embarrassment to the city. Today, it is a tourist draw and historic landmark.

Driving Conditions in Wichita Falls

Compared to similar sized cities, Wichita Falls drivers smooth sailing, with an average commute time of just under 14 minutes, according to U.S. Census data. The average U.S. commute time is about 26 minutes. The city is 115 miles from Fort Worth and 140 miles from Oklahoma City, Okla. Interstate 44, which ends smack in the middle of Wichita Falls, takes drivers north to Oklahoma City. Most of I-44 in Oklahoma is a toll road. Once in Wichita Falls, the freeway turns to Highway 287 and Highway 281, which are briefly concurrent and go their separate ways in the southern part of the city.

Traffic information, cameras, accidents and construction updates can be accessed at drivetexas.org.

Unique Laws in Wichita Falls

City leaders in Wichita Falls in 2006 established “child safety zones,” by limiting the areas where registered sex offenders may live. Offenders with victims under 17 may not live within 1,000 feet of youth centers, child care centers and public parks.

Recently enacted laws in Texas permit the open carry of knives and swords. Beginning in 2017, applicants for a Texas driver’s license must take a course in distracted driving in addition to other requirements. A course specifically for drivers 35 and older is expected to be added in 2018. Adults can legally ride in the back of a truck, according to Texas laws, and there are even exceptions for children riding in truck beds — one being if the truck is the family’s only vehicle.

Wichita Falls Crime Statistics

Data compiled by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for 2016 states there were 445 violent crimes in Wichita Falls, nine of which were murder or manslaughter. The local violent crime rate of 425 offenses per 100,000 residents is above the national average of 386 offenses per 100,000 people.

The property crime rate in Wichita Falls the same year was 3,566 offenses per 100,000 residents, also higher than the U.S. average of 2,451 incidents per 100,000 residents. Within the city, 263 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 251 incidents per 100,000 residents. The national average is 236 incidents per 100,000 people.

Wichita Falls safety requirements

Wichita Falls in 2017 passed laws banning the use of handheld phones use while driving, and fines range from $195 to $500. Unless enacted by a local government, no state laws addressing talking on a hand-held phone while driving in Texas. A statewide ban on texting while driving went into effect in September 2017. Seat belts are mandatory for all drivers and front-seat passengers and for minors whether in the front or rear seats, Texas law states. Fines and court costs of up to $200 can result for not buckling up. After age 4 or at a minimum weight of 40 pounds, children may graduate from required safety seats to a booster system.

Wichita Falls impaired driving laws

In the Lone Star State, a driver is considered legally intoxicated and can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated, or DWI, with a BAC (blood or breath alcohol content) of .08 or higher. A driver also may be deemed intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Minors under 21 can be charged with any level of alcohol and both drivers and passengers also can be fined $500 for having an open alcohol container in the car. Penalties are more severe if your BAC is above .15.

First DWI offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years or an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain a driver’s license. Charges are enhanced if there is a passenger younger than 15 in the car. Regardless of your driving history, you can find cheap care insurance in Wichita Falls, Texas; contact us for rate comparisons.

To Get Free Wichita Falls Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Wichita Falls, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!