Wisconsin holds the second longest Great Lakes coastline, making summer beach fun a big draw for its residents and visitors alike. “The Beaver State” offers natural attractions of all kinds across its varied landscape, and its dairy industry has made the state famous for Wisconsin cheese. The state’s residents enjoy water skiing on the lakes, camping in the national parks and tasting the state’s famous cuisine. Taking a drive from the Central Plains to Lake Michigan’s beaches can be a fantastic adventure. Cheapcarinsurance.net is making the adventure easier by providing Wisconsin drivers a short, organized and thorough list of all the useful car insurance information for the state.
Average Car Insurance Rates in Wisconsin
The average annual cost of Wisconsin car insurance is $1,322 for full coverage and $398 for state minimum coverage.
Wisconsin’s Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance
Liability Insurance and Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage is required by the Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner.
Liability minimums in Wisconsin:
$25,000 covers a person if he/she is injured or killed in an accident.
$50,000 covers an accident if there is more than one person injured or killed.
$10,000 covers property damage in an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage minimums:
The state provides the Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance booklet to help educate drivers on insurance facts.
New Driver Licensing Requirements
According to the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), new residents who hold a current out-of-state license may only need to take a vision test to apply for a Wisconsin license. All new drivers must first obtain an Instruction Permit. The following is needed for this permit:
The applicant must be at least 15 years, 6 months of age.
If under 18 years old, the applicant must enroll in an approved driver education program.
If under 18 years old, the applicant must have parental consent and be enrolled in school.
The applicant must pass the knowledge, sign and vision tests.
While holding this permit, the following restrictions apply:
The applicant must be with a licensed driver who has 2 or more years of driving experience and is:
an instructor 19 years of age or older, OR
a parent, guardian or spouse who is 19 years of age or older, OR
an authorized person age 21 or older
To apply for a Probationary License, drivers under the age of 18 must log 20 hours of daytime driving and 10 hours of night driving.
Probationary License. After passing the road skills test and the requirements for the permit, the driver may apply for the Probationary License. The following applies to this license:
The applicant may drive alone, and passengers are limited to one individual who is not related. Immediate family members may occupy the vehicle and do not count as passengers for this license.
The applicant is not allowed to drive between midnight and 5am unless going to/from school or work.
The driver must hold the license for 12 months to apply for a regular driver’s license.
Vision Screening. A field of vision of at least 70 degrees and a visual acuity of 20/40 is needed to obtain an unrestricted license. Various restrictions are permitted for applicants who do not have the necessary vision requirements.
Knowledge Test. Wisconsin’s Motorists’ Handbook provides the necessary information to pass the knowledge test. The test is administered on touch screen computers at DMV office locations, and the DMV provides a Practice Test. Applicants are allowed 5 attempts within 1 year, and after the fifth attempt they will need special permission from the DMV to re-take the test.
Road Test. Using a vehicle provided by the applicant, the test administrator will evaluate the applicant’s skills in the following areas:
Pass another vehicle
Back the vehicle
Make a 3 point turn
Emergency roadside stop
Turn left or right on a divided highway and/or a two-lane/one way road
Move from a parked position onto the roadway
A pre-test vehicle inspection will be performed by the administrator, and the list of required equipment can be found in the Motorists’ Handbook.
Fees. Each applicant must provide the appropriate fees:
Instruction Permit: $35
Probationary License: $28
Regular License: $28
BAC limit: .08 Wisconsin Law (§ 346.63) requires Ignition Interlock Devices for every OWI (DUI) offense in Wisconsin. The following are general penalties for OWI in Wisconsin:
License revocation: 6 to 9 months
Fine: $150 to $300
Ignition Interlock Device
Second Offense within 10 years:
Jail: 5 days to 6 months
License revocation: 12 to 18 months after released from confinement
Fine: $350 to $1,100
Ignition Interlock Device
Jail: 45 days to 1 year
License revocation: 2 to 3 years after released from confinement