Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Garland, Texas

Knowing a little more about Garland, can make finding cheap car insurance easier. Part of the Dallas-Fort Worth metro area, Garland is an incorporated city of about 236,000. Only 15 miles northeast of Dallas, it borders the northeast section of I-635. The 12th largest city in Texas, it abuts the cities of Dallas, Plano, Richardson, Mesquite and Rowlett. Its proximity to Dallas, relatively low cost of living and entertainment options have landed it on multiple “best places to live” rankings.

Cheap Car Insurance is here to help you get the best car insurance to fit your needs in Garland, TX. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions in Garland

Traffic between cities in the greater DFW area is unavoidably congested during rush hours, and Garland is no exception. Major arteries through the city are I-30 and I-635, and Texas State Highways 66 and 78. The average commute for Garland drivers is 27.6 minutes, more than the overall Dallas-Fort Worth commute time of nearly 26 minutes. According to the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2014 American Community Survey, the average commute time for the 50 largest U.S. metros is 27.2 minutes.

Unique Laws in Garland

In Texas, adults can legally ride in the back of a truck, according to Texas state laws. There are even exceptions when it comes to children riding in truck beds, one being if the truck is the family’s only vehicle. After an auto accident, there is a two-year statute of limitations on filing a lawsuit for personal injury or property damage.

Garland Crime Statistics

Within Garland, there were 754 cases of auto theft in 2015, or a rate of 317 incidents per 100,000 people. The national average for the same year was a rate of 220.2 per 100,000 people, according to the National Insurance Crime Bureau. Up-to-date crime reports and maps can be found at the city’s website,

Garland Safety Requirements

Seat belts are mandatory for all drivers and front-seat passengers and for minors whether in the front or rear seats, Texas law states. Fines and court costs of up to $200 can result for not buckling up. After age 4 or 40 pounds, children may graduate from required safety seats to a booster system. A statewide ban on texting while driving is set to go into effect in September 2017. Meanwhile, several nearby cities such as Grand Prairie, Arlington and Denton enforce their own ordinances prohibiting texting and driving.

Garland Impaired Driving Laws

According to state laws, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration) in Texas. However, a driver can also be deemed intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Both drivers and passengers also can be fined $500 for having an open alcohol container in a car. First offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain a driver’s license. Charges are enhanced if there is a passenger younger than 15 in the car.

To Get Free Garland Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Garland, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for affordable car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It's easier to get discounted car insurance with a car that has a high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!