Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Lubbock, Texas

Interested in knowing more about Lubbock and how to obtain cheap car insurance? Well, with a population of nearly 250,000 and home to Texas Tech University, Lubbock is often called “Hub City,” since it is the economic and educational center of northwest Texas. Lubbock lies in an area known as the South Plains, just south of the Texas panhandle, known as the largest contiguous cotton-growing region in the world.

Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Lubbock, Texas. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions in Lubbock

Lubbock in recent years has earned bragging rights regarding its traffic and commute times. Compared to average U.S. cities commute of 25.2 minutes, Lubbock’s average is only 16 minutes, according to Census Bureau data.

Interstate 27 bisects the city running north-south. The 289 Loop encircles Lubbock, but local drivers say this route is often congested and best avoided during rush hour.

Current information on accidents, construction and weather-related delays is available at transguide.dot.state.tx.us, or drivetexas.org.

Unique Laws in Lubbock

Despite the state’s seat belt laws and recommendations, there’s nothing illegal about riding in the back of a truck, if you’re 18 or older. In fact, there are even exceptions to laws that allow children to ride in truck beds – one of those being if the truck is the family’s only vehicle.

After an auto accident in Texas, there is a two-year statute of limitations on filing a lawsuit for personal injury or property damage.

Lubbock Crime Statistics

The Lubbock metro area for 2015 was listed at No. 32 on the National Insurance Crime Bureau’s most recent ranking of cities with the highest vehicle theft rates, with a rate of 394.98 incidents per 100,000 people. The national average for the same year was a rate of 220.2 per 100,000 people.

Lubbock Safety Requirements

Texas law requires everyone in a vehicle to buckle up or face fines and court costs up to $200. Children younger than 8 must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they’re taller than 4 feet 9 inches, according to the Texas Department of Transportation. If they aren’t properly restrained, the driver faces fines up to $250, plus court costs.

More information on seat belt and car safety is available at texasclickitorticket.com.

There are no current state laws addressing texting or cellphone use for drivers over 18, though cellphone use of any kind is banned in school zones.

Lubbock Impaired Driving Laws

Drivers in Texas are considered legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI if they have a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration) or higher. One can also be deemed intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs – regardless of BAC. Both drivers and passengers also can be fined $500 for having an open alcohol container in a car.

DWI first offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years to retain a driver’s license. Charges are enhanced if there is a passenger younger than 15 in the car.

To Get Free Lubbock Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Lubbock, Texas Agents

Add FREE Listing

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!