Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Anchorage, Alaska

Want to know more about Anchorage and ways to get cheap car insurance? Well, home to nearly 300,000, the largest city in Alaska has been called the most tax-friendly city in the U.S., equidistant from Tokyo and New York City. Located in the south central part of the state on the Cook Inlet, Anchorage is one of the largest cities in the U.S. by area, encompassing 1,961 miles.

Cheap Car Insurance will compare auto insurance for you in Anchorage, Alaska. We will make sure to get you the best car insurance rates in town.

Driving conditions in Anchorage

Traffic can get congested on Anchorage’s main thoroughfares, but the city’s average commute time of 23 minutes is below the national average of nearly 26 minutes. Current information on traffic, construction and accidents can be accessed at or by calling 511.

Unique laws in Anchorage

Ordinances in Anchorage prohibit one from tying his or her pet dog to the roof of a vehicle. It is also illegal for pranksters to tie a wire across any road. In addition, you may not live in a trailer as it is being hauled across the city.

Anchorage crime statistics

The Anchorage metro area was ranked at No. 47 on the National Insurance Crime Bureau’s most recent list of 100 cities with the highest vehicle theft rates, with a rate of 339.93 incidents per 100,000 people, compared to a national average of 220 incidents per 100,000. The Anchorage Police Department does report that 95 percent of cars stolen within the city are found.

Anchorage safety requirements

Drivers and passengers under 16 must wear seat belts, Alaska laws dictate. Drivers within Anchorage can be fined up to $200 for failing to restrain passengers under age 16. Children younger than 4 or under 40 pounds must be in a child restraint system. Children 4 through 7 weighing between 40 and 80 pounds are required to ride in a booster seat. Texting and driving is banned.

Anchorage impaired driving laws

Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher (.04 for commercial drivers) are charged with driving under the influence, according the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles. Driving privileges will be revoked by the state if charged with a DUI, or if a suspected driver refuses to breath, blood or urine test. The revocation period is 90 days for a first offense, one year for a second office or 3 years for the third.

To Get Free Anchorage Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Anchorage, Alaska Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Anchorage, Alaska

Dig you know

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for affordable car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

Safety Tip

It's easier to get discounted car insurance with a car that has a high safety rating than one without one.

Savings Tip

When you are looking for car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!