Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Cleveland, Ohio

Looking to learn more about Cleveland and how you can acquire cheap car insurance? Well, Cleveland’s place in musical history has been set because this city has the pleasure of hosting the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. It also is home to the world-renowned Cleveland Orchestra.

Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Cleveland. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions in Cleveland

Snow and ice are common in Cleveland during the wintertime, and they can increase the danger of driving on the streets. Drivers must beware of shaded spots on the highways because these areas may contain ice and frost even if the rest of the location is dry. This city also has fog on occasion, and it makes driving more difficult. On the rare occasion that collisions occur while fog is present, it increases the danger of chain reaction accidents.

Odd Laws in Cleveland

In Cleveland, women must refrain from wearing patent leather shoes. If they don’t, it’s possible that men could see the reflection of their underwear. If the house becomes infested with mice, Cleveland residents will have to live with them if they aren’t willing to obtain a hunting license because it is illegal to catch mice without one.

Crime Statistics in Cleveland

For 2014, here are the reported number of crimes in three categories in Cleveland, according to the FBI:

  • Burglary — 6,948 incidents
  • Larceny — 10,335 incidents
  • Vehicle thefts — 3,838 incidents

Safety Requirements in Cleveland

Seatbelt Law

Under Ohio law, every driver and front-seat passenger must wear a seat belt. Each kid under 8 must be in a booster seat or other approved child safety seat (except if the child is at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall), while anyone 8 to 15 must wear a seat belt if he or she is not sitting in a child safety seat.

Distracted Driving Law

State law bans texting while driving, but permits talking on a cellphone while driving (unless you’re under 18).

An adult driver who breaks the anti-texting law can be fined up to $150. For a driver under 18 who’s guilty of a first texting offense, the maximum penalty is a $150 fine and a six-month license suspension; the penalty doubles for a second offense.

Helmet Law

Under Ohio law, a motorcycle operator 18 and older who’s held a valid motorcycle license for at least a year is not required to wear a helmet. An operator under 18 must put on a helmet, though. All motorcycle passengers must adhere to the same rules that apply to the operator. Anyone caught without a helmet can be fined as much as $75.

Ohio does not have a law requiring use of helmets by bicycle operators or passengers.

Impaired Driving Law

The crimes of DWI or DUI go by another name in Ohio: OVI (operating under the influence).

In the case of a “low test” — meaning lower-level results on a chemical test to determine OVI — a first-time offender in Ohio faces at least three days in jail, a one-year license suspension and a $375 fine. Under the “high test” scenario (with higher-level test results) a first-time offender faces at least six days in jail, a one-year license suspension, a $375 fine and mandatory yellow OVI license plates.

Maximum penalties for a first-time “low test” offender are six months in jail, a three-year license suspension and a $1,075 fine, while maximum penalties for a first-time “high test” offender are six months in jail, a three-year license suspension, a $1,075 fine and mandatory yellow OVI license plates.

To Get Free Cleveland Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Cleveland, Ohio Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Cleveland, Ohio

Dig you know

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for affordable car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

Safety Tip

It's easier to get discounted car insurance with a car that has a high safety rating than one without one.

Savings Tip

When you are looking for car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!