Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Greeley, Colorado

Locate cheap car insurance in Greeley, a northern Colorado city that serves as the seat of Weld County. Founded as a city in 1886, it is named for New York Tribune editor Horace Greeley, who favored westward expansion and popularized the phrase, "Go West, young man."

Weld County has the dubious honor of having the most confirmed tornado sightings, 252, between 1950 and 2011 -- a statistic that may have less to do with its weather and more with its size, which is more than 4,000 square miles. Meanwhile, Greeley has a population of about 104,000 living within the city's 48 square miles. Its largest employer is meatpacker JBS Swift & Co., followed by the North Colorado Medical Center, Vestas and State Farm.

Driving Conditions in Greeley

Greeley is about 50 miles northeast of Denver. State Highway 85, known as the CanAm Highway, takes commuters on the city's western end southward into Denver. Interstate 25 is east of the city and runs south to Denver and north to Cheyenne, Wyoming. Inside the city, most major corridors are numbered, with avenues running north-south and streets running east-west. Highway 34, which takes travelers from east to west, is a major commercial corridor, continuing east into rural Nebraska and west to Estes Park. The Denver International Airport is 60 miles away. The average commute time for Greeley is just under 22 minutes, about four minutes shorter than the national average, according to Census Bureau data.

For updated travel information, visit www.cotrip.org.

Unique Laws in Greeley

In 2012, Colorado changed its marijuana laws, allowing those over 21 to possess and consume marijuana. Cities, however, can regulate certain aspects related to the use and sale of marijuana. The City of Greeley has banned commercial and retail marijuana establishments, as well as "marijuana clubs," testing and product manufacturing facilities.

Many Colorado drivers do not realize, according to the Colorado Department of Transportation, that they can be cited for driving under the influence of marijuana.

Meanwhile, a much older Colorado law bans riding a horse while under the influence. Other laws that are good to know: You may not mutilate a rock within a state park. A law banning sales of alcohol on Sunday was repealed in 2008.

Greeley Crime Statistics

Data compiled by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for 2016 states there were 468 violent crimes in Greeley, three of which were murder or manslaughter. The local violent crime rate of 456 offenses per 100,000 residents is above the national average of 386 offenses per 100,000 people. The property crime rate in Greeley the same year was 3,195 offenses per 100,000 residents, also above the U.S. average of 2,451 incidents per 100,000 residents. Within the city, 322 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 314 incidents per 100,000 residents. The national average is 236 incidents per 100,000 people.

Greeley safety requirements

Texting while driving in 2017 was made illegal in Colorado, though Greeley has had a ban in place since 2016. Under the city ordinance, a driver can be hit with a $100 fine even if he or she is stopped at a traffic light. Under state laws, drivers are ticketed if they are using their phones in a way that causes them to drive carelessly.

The Colorado Department of Transportation conducts periodic “seat belt waves” throughout the year to enforce seat belt laws that state all drivers and front seat occupants must buckle up. Colorado in 2011 passed an enhanced booster seat law mandating that children up to age 8 must ride in either a child restraint system or properly fitting booster seat. The fine for not buckling up is $65, and parents caught with an improperly restrained child are fined $82.

Greeley impaired driving laws

In Colorado, DWAI, or “driving while ability impaired,” is usually a misdemeanor involving motorists who have consumed alcohol or drugs – or both. When a blood or breath test result is between 0.05 and 0.08, then a person is likely to be charged with DWAI. However, when the result is at or over 0.08, the driver will most likely be charged with DUI, or “driving under the influence.” DWAI convictions do not normally result in license revocations, but DUI convictions do. In 2015, Colorado enacted a law making an a fourth DUI conviction automatically eligible for a class 4 felony. No matter what your background, contact us for the best insurance rates in Greeley, Colo.

To Get Free Greeley Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Greeley, Colorado Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Greeley, Colorado

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for cheap car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

It is easier to get cheap car insurance with a car that has high safety rating than one without one.

When you are looking for cheap car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!