Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheap Car Insurance in Sacramento, California

Looking to learn more about Sacramento and how to get cheap car insurance? Well, According to UC Davis, Sacramento was named one of the most desirable places to live by Newsweek Magazine. The city’s abundance of parkland and trees, its commitment to quality of life for citizens and its historical heritage were the main reasons cited.

Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Sacramento, CA. Get your auto insurance quote today!

Driving Conditions In Sacramento

Traffic is heavy on the freeways and main surface streets during rush hours. Sacramento has some rainy days throughout the year, and temperatures can reach the freezing point during the coldest months of the year. During inclement weather, the roads can be slick. Occasional fog will also contribute to poor visibility. For updated traffic information, Sacramento residents can check the California Highway Patrol office’s site.

Unique Laws In Sacramento

In Sacramento, the city codes list several regulations for parking meters. One of the regulations makes it an offense to deposit money in a meter where a person is not parked.

In California, it’s illegal for a woman to drive while wearing a housecoat, and it’s a crime to shoot at any kind of game from a moving vehicle (unless the targeted animal is a whale).

Crime Statistics In Sacramento

The FBI reported 3,346 vehicle theft incidents in 2012, and they also reported 19,967 property crimes in Sacramento that year. According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, there were 3,468 accidents resulting in fatalities or injuries in Sacramento in 2010. The number of alcohol-related traffic accidents was 325 that year.

In 2015, according to the FBI, 2,923 vehicles were reported stolen in Sacramento. Also, 16,501 property crimes were reported that year.

Safety Requirements In Sacramento

Sacramento enforces California’s vehicle codes.

Seat Belt Law

Children under age 2 must ride facing the rear of a vehicle in an appropriate child passenger safety seat, according to the California Highway Patrol. Children weighing at least 40 pounds or standing at least 40 inches tall are exempt. Children under age 8 must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat of a vehicle.

Cellphone Law

Motorists can’t hold a wireless telephone or electronic wireless communication device while driving a vehicle, the California Highway Patrol says; however, hands-free use is allowed. Instead of a device being held, it must be mounted in the 7-inch square in the lower corner of the windshield farthest removed from the driver or in a 5-inch square in the lower corner of the windshield nearest to the driver. Another option: Attach the device to the dashboard where it does not block the driver’s view of the road and does not hinder airbag deployment.

Helmet Law

Anyone under age 18 must wear a helmet when riding a bicycle on a street, bikeway or public bike path or trail. Helmet use also is mandated for anyone under 18 who’s riding a scooter or skateboard, or using inline skates.

Impaired Driving Law

For drivers over age 21, the blood alcohol limit for DUI is 0.08 percent. A first-time DUI conviction can lead to a $1,000 fine, plus more than $2,600 in penalty assessments; a six-months jail sentence; a six-month license suspension; a 30-day vehicle impoundment; and installation of an interlock breath device in the driver’s vehicle.

Under California law, authorities have “zero tolerance” for anyone under 21 who’s been caught driving under the influence. The state Department of Motor Vehicles automatically suspends or revokes the driving privileges of a driver under 21 who was busted for DUI (alcohol or a combination of alcohol and drugs) who had a blood alcohol level of at least 0.01 percent or refused to take a blood alcohol screening or test.

The California Highway Patrol works with several sober driving programs. Auto insurance is also required by California state law. All drivers in Sacramento are required to carry the minimum liability policy. However, the minimum requirement is not always sufficient in all cases. To learn more about affordable auto insurance, request a free quote.

To Get Free Sacramento Car Insurance Quotes, Either:

  • OR

Car Insurance Sacramento, California Agents

Add FREE Listing

Auto body shops Sacramento, California

Dig you know

Swapping your high heels for a pair of driving shoes can help you qualify for affordable car insurance by avoiding accidents and getting "safer driver" discounts.

Safety Tip

It's easier to get discounted car insurance with a car that has a high safety rating than one without one.

Savings Tip

When you are looking for car insurance, ask if the insurance company offers a policy where they forgive the first accident.

Remind Me to Save Again!

Want to remember to get quotes later? Get a reminder!